Derek Lomas

Derek Lomas is a scientist and artist pursuing his MFA at UC San Diego. He received his undergraduate degree in Cognitive Science from Yale University (2003), where he studied the cognitive basis for empathy and music perception. He currently co-directs the Social Movement Laboratory ( under Natalie Jeremijenko at the California Institute of Telecommunications and Technology (Calit2).

The Social Movement Laboratory is a hybrid arts laboratory researching the aesthetics and dynamics of social activity. Recently, the laboratory conducted aerial studies of crowd structures at the Mexican-American immigration rallies in San Diego. Currently, the lab is conducting a large-scale visualization of the dynamics of social behavior within, the largest online social network. “BioMemetics@Myspace” is a 20-screen modular representation of the exchange of media and the structure of popularity within the influential online network.

Derek Lomas regularly uses non-traditional ethnographic methodologies to explore the aesthetic of common collaborative social processes. His most recent work at ISEA2006, “Memory Columns: San Jose 2006,” is a sculptural-performance piece structured as a comparative study of graffiti practices across four different neighborhoods within San Jose, CA. “Real-Time-Lapse” is a video piece using aerial surveillance cameras at an LA gallery opening to provide a self-reflective representation of the crowd’s ongoing social interactions at 10x speed. Currently, Derek Lomas is working on “Party of the Year”: an abstract animation of social structure, based upon aerial surveillance footage taken at a large party held in a San Diego art gallery.

Derek Lomas has presented his work at Yale University, Artspace New Haven, UC San Diego, the Sundown Salon LA, and in the Chelsea Art Museum, New York City.

Artist CV


Seth Augustine
Kate Barclay
Veronika Bauer
Robert Becraft
Susannah Bielak
Boredom Patrol
Carl Burton
Mike Caloud
Raul Cardenas-Osuna
Fabian Cereijido
Matthew Coors
J. Tanner Cusick
Cathy de la Cruz
Evelyn Donnelly
Julia Dzwonkoski
James Enos
Deanna Erdmann
Kael Greco
Nico Herbst
Kate Hoffman
Scott Horsley
Sara Hunsucker
Glenna Jennings
Sharon Levy
Emiko Lewis-Sanchez

Derek Lomas
Esteban Martinez
Jennifer Medlin
Gretchen Mercedes
Patrick Miller
Elyse Montague
Patricia Montoya
Adam Moyer
Owen Mundy
Clare Parry
Kelly Pendergrast
Omar Pimienta
PG Toys
Serena Porrati
Iana Quesnell
Steven Rubin
Tristan Shone
Katherine Sweetman
The Magnum PIs
Robert Twomey
Yvonne Venegas
Nina Waisman
Caleb Waldorf
Kate Wall
Julia Westerbeke
Felipe Zuniga